Equator Prize 2017 (APPLY NOW)

Equator initiative

Equator Prize 2017 (APPLY NOW)

Deadline: March 8, 2017


Call for nominations




The Equator Initiative announces a global call for nominations for the Equator Prize 2017. This year’s prize will be awarded to outstanding community and indigenous initiatives that are advancing nature-based solutions for local sustainable development. The Equator Prize winners will join a prestigious network of 208 community-based organizations from 70 countries that have been awarded the Equator Prize since 2002. Each winning group will receive USD 10,000 and will be invited to participate in a series of policy dialogues and special events during the United Nations General Assembly in New York in September 2017, culminating in an award ceremony at the beginning of Climate Week.


In celebration of its 15th anniversary, the Equator Initiative will also launch a web portal of local nature-based solutions to sustainable development. The platform will serve to connect communities around the world and share local solutions that work. Participation in this platform is optional when submitting nominations for the Equator Prize.



This year’s Equator Prize winners will feature innovative solutions related to protecting, restoring and/or sustainably managing nature to achieve local sustainable development, such as food security, water security, sustainable jobs and livelihoods, and disaster risk reduction. Crosscutting issues include advocacy for land and water rights, social and environmental justice, and gender equality. The selection of winners will emphasize replicability and scalability of community initiatives to achieve progress on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


ALSO SEE: APPLY: Sud expert plantes développement durable 2017 – (Grant on plant biodiversity)


Local communities from rural areas in 145 countries are eligible to be nominated. Nominations are open to indigenous peoples’ groups from any country, operating in rural areas. For full eligibility requirements and selection criteria, please click here.


Submit nominations for the Equator Prize 2017

To access the online nomination system, please visit prize.equatorinitiative.org. Nominations may be submitted in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Indonesian, Portuguese, Russian, or Spanish.


Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the Equator Prize 2017, the following requirements apply:

  • The initiative must have been in existence for at least three years, and/or the actions taken must have been in place for at least three years.
  • The nominee must be either a local community-based group, operating in a rural area, based in a country receiving support from the United Nations Development Programme (for a list of eligible countries, see the list below); or an indigenous peoples’ community in any country, operating in a rural area.
  • The actions taken must be nature-based, and must deliver benefits related to two or more Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


Eligible Initiatives

  • Community-based associations or organizations
  • Community-based enterprises and cooperatives
  • Women’s associations or organizations
  • Indigenous or ethnic minority groups or associations
  • Youth groups or associations
  • Non-governmental organizations


ALSO SEE: 2017 Laureate Global Fellowship (youthactionnet.org)


Eligible Countries

Local community based-groups must be located in one of the following countries listed below. Click the region to expand. Indigenous peoples’ communities from any country may nominate.


Eastern Europe and Central Asia

Albania Georgia Montenegro Turkmenistan
Armenia Kazakhstan Moldova Ukraine
Azerbaijan Kosovo Serbia Uzbekistan
Belarus Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan  
Bosnia and Herzegovina Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Turkey  


Middle East and North Africa

Algeria Iraq Morocco Syria
Djibouti Jordan Palestinian Territories Tunisia
Egypt Kuwait Saudi Arabia Yemen
Eritrea Lebanon Somalia  
Iran Libya Sudan  


Latin America and the Caribbean

Antigua and Barbuda Cuba Honduras Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Argentina Dominica Jamaica Suriname
Barbados Dominican Republic Mexico Trinidad and Tobago
Belize Ecuador Nicaragua Uruguay
Bolivia El Salvador Panama Venezuela
Brazil Grenada Paraguay  
Chile Guatemala Peru  
Colombia Guyana Saint Kitts and Nevis  
Costa Rica Haiti Saint Lucia  


Asia and the Pacific

Afghanistan Kiribati Nepal Thailand
Bangladesh Laos Niue Timor-Leste
Bhutan Malaysia Pakistan Tonga
Cambodia Maldives Palau Tuvalu
China Marshall Islands Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Cook Islands Micronesia, Federated States of Philippines Viet Nam
Fiji Mongolia Samoa  
India Myanmar Solomon Islands  
Indonesia Nauru Sri Lanka  


Sub-Saharan Africa

Angola Cote d’Ivoire Malawi Sierra Leone
Benin Equatorial Guinea Mali South Africa
Botswana Ethiopia Mauritania South Sudan
Burkina Faso Gabon Mauritius Swaziland
Burundi Gambia Mozambique Tanzania
Cameroon Ghana Namibia Togo
Cape Verde Guinea Niger Uganda
Central African Republic Guinea-Bissau Nigeria Zambia
Chad Kenya Rwanda Zimbabwe
Comoros Lesotho Sao Tome and Principe  
Congo, Democratic
Republic of the
Liberia Senegal  
Congo, Republic of Madagascar Seychelles  



ALSO SEE: Special Research Fund for Doctoral Scholarships for Candidates from Developing Countries


Selection Criteria

Equator Prize 2017 winners will be selected by an independent Technical Advisory Committee, which will assess nominations based on the following criteria:

  • Impact: The extent to which the nominated initiative has resulted in measurable and positive environmental, social and economic impacts, related to two or more Sustainable Development Goals;
  • Innovation: The extent to which the nominated initiative demonstrates new approaches and models that overcome prevailing constraints, and could offer fundamentally new approaches to attaining sustainable development;
  • Scalability and/or replicability: The extent to which the nominated initiative could be scaled up sub-nationally or nationally and/or, the extent to which the initiative can be replicated within the country and beyond;
  • Resilience, Adaptability, and Self-Sufficiency: The extent to which the nominated initiative demonstrates adaptability to environmental, social and economic change, resilience in the face of external pressures, and improved capacity for local self-sufficiency;
  • Reduced inequalities: The extent to which the initiative reduces inequalities in income as well as those based on age, sex, disability, race, ethnicity, origin, religion or economic or other status, particular for the poor;
  • Social Inclusion: The extent to which the nominated initiative includes youth, elders, indigenous members and other diverse groups in the decision-making processes and the actions that affect them;
  • Gender Equality: The extent to which the nominated Initiative promotes the equality and empowerment of women and girls.


ALSO SEE: Commonwealth Scholarships for MSc. in Agricultural, Environmental, Climate Change, Engineering courses & others


For more information, click here.


Or contact:


Equator Initiative

United Nations Development Programme

304 East 45th Street, 6th Floor

New York, NY 10017

Tel: +1 646 781-4072






Do you like this story?

Or do you have some exciting environment-related news or scholarships opportunities to share with Nigerian youths?

You are in the right place. We are always glad to hear from you.

Write to us at: info@wastesmart.org,

Follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.



Kunlere Idowu

Kunlere is an environment and sustainable development strategist with years of active experience in environmental compliance monitoring and enforcement. You may follow him on Twitter via @kunlere_idowu


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Receive updates as they are ready.